|Our tapestry panel shows the Queen Anne
style station house (1885) together with a modern Main Line diesel
train. Recently restored, the station building won the Ian Allen
National Railway Heritage Award in 1999. The first railway through
Harborough was built in 1850, other lines followed in 1857, 1859 and
1879. The main London line is the only one remaining today.
Thomas Cook (1808-1892)
The inset plaque is to be found above Quaker's Yard off Adam & Eve
Street. It commemorates Thomas Cook who lived and worked there from 1830
to 1 841. He organised the first railway excursion in 1841 and went on
to found Thomas Cook & Son, Travel Agents.